Mechanics Video–Pleading for Feedback

So I’ll get right to the point: today, I topped out at 75 mph. Yes, that’s right–thousands of fourteen year-olds currently throw 75 mphs. I know. And today, hundreds of 18-22 year olds are sighing with relief, knowing that their minor league roster spot will not be snatched out from under them.

Yes, 75 mph.

And to make matters worse, out of the fifty pitches that we clocked, my average velocity was 72.5 mph.

To make matters even worse, only 14 out of 50 went for strikes.

Extremely slow and incredibly wild–Target Field here I come.

While I admit that this could very well be a clear sign that I’m all washed up, I’m not yet ready to throw in the towel. Here are the rose colored facts:

Fact: During a bullpen session in early October, I was regularly reaching the low 80s, topping out at 84.

Fact: Due to a sprained ankle, I stopped throwing and working out from late October until December 28. So I have only been exercising for a month, and have only had eleven forty-minute throwing sessions before today.

Fact: I was throwing off of flat ground today, not off of a mound. The mound does, generally, give a velocity boost–though adding 2-3 mph would probably be generous, and doesn’t fully explain the 7-9 mph drop off.

Fact: I wasn’t really trying to throw strikes–I’ll slowly build back my command.

With all of that being said, I think there are two main factors in my drop off in velocity (not including my age, of course, which is certainly a factor):

1) general conditioning, as well as arm conditioning (this I can work on)
2) too much tinkering with my mechanics

On number 2, I need help. I’d appreciate anyone out there who knows what they’re talking about could give constructive criticism on my mechanics, as evidenced in this video. If you know any baseball minds, please forward this along.

This is the video of my final pitch today, which did touch 75 mph. Please leave your feedback as a comment.

3 Responses to “Mechanics Video–Pleading for Feedback”

  1. Keep it, Dan-O. I have faith in you.

  2. Not a lot of drive in your bottom half. Also, tough to watch you throw max effort from flat ground, especially into a stiff front leg. Do yourself a favor and get an indoor mound.

  3. Hard to say much from flat ground, Dan. I wouldn’t read too much into it without a mound. The two little things I see — a bit too much leaning back at full extension (your “T” position is pointing slightly upwards), and your lack of vertical completion (you have more of a lateral turn) on the follow-trhough — will of course be naturally corrected with a mound. I wouldn’t get too used to pitching on flat ground if you can help it.

Leave a Reply

